Coming Soon

Race Recaps Articles more_>

Davi Millsaps – Anaheim Won

by Charles Owens on 01/07/2013

Davi Millsaps takes the W at A1.


In a thrilling final-lap duel, Californian Davi Millsaps passed Trey Canard to win the first race of the 2013 AMA Supercross season at Angel Stadium on Saturday.

The Rockstar Energy Racing Suzuki rider’s win at at Anaheim 1 was his first for almost three years.

“It was a great night for me,” Millsaps said post-race.

“This is my first win since 2010 and I was just trying to keep calm out there. It has been a long time since I have led a race, so it was hard to calm my nerves,” he said.

Millsaps took the holeshot in the main event, ahead of two-time champion Ryan Villopoto – who crashed out over the berm in lap five – and Yoshimura Suzuki convert James Stewart who was nursing a strained knee he hurt in practice.

Villopoto impressed the commentary team with his quad-set leaps before the whoops section, which he performed several times.

“You could do that [quad-set jump] on a 250 in my day!” said one of the commentary team members, recounting the dominant two-stroke race environment.

The 450SX class also saw Australian native Chad Reed return to action on his Two-Two Motorsports Honda, following a season-ending crash in Texas last year.

Trey Canard (Muscle Milk Honda) and Ryan Dungey (Red Bull KTM) finished behind Millsaps in the 20-lap main event.

The 250SX event was almost over for several riders before it even started, with a major pile-up just after the holeshot bend.

Fortunately most riders took off unscathed, riding a fast-paced race with several sub-minute laps, including more than one from Malcolm Stewart, the younger brother of James.

The speed and style of the 250SX class caught the attention of former supercross great and race commentator Ricky Carmichael.

“I really like what I see from this 250 supercross class – how fast they’re going, just a new generation of riding,” the two-stroke era world champion said.

Geico Powersports Honda’s Eli Tomac scored first place, followed by Ken Roczen (Red Bull KTM) and Cole Seely (Troy Lee Designs Honda).

The riders reconvene next week across the state border in Pheonix, Arizona for more racing action.


Anaheim 1 450SX Main Event Results

1. Davi Millsaps
2. Trey Canard
3. Ryan Dungey
4. Chad Reed
5. Jake Weimer
6. Andrew Short
7. Justin Barcia
8. James Stewart
9. Justin Brayton
10. Kevin Windham

Content by TSM guest editor Paul Savage